A Cheaper Plane Ticket to Omaha for the Berkshire Hathaway AGM

I made an interesting discovery while shopping for planes tickets to go to Omaha, Nebraska for the 2015 Berkshire Hathaway annual shareholder meeting.  Because of the popularity of the event, US airlines take advantage of the situation to boost ticket prices. By shopping around I found to save money and it could work if you live near a Canadian airport.

Since I’m on the US-Canada border, I can either fly from Canada or the U.S. Normally, if I have a flight in the U.S., I usually take off from a US airport since US domestic flights are much cheaper compare to leaving from Canada, except for going to Omaha Nebraska on the first weekend of May. It appear that Canadian airlines don’t jack up prices for that special weekend. This is pure discrimination because I’m redirected to an US airline for the trip. I also have one stop in the US to pick up people that paid more than me to get to the same destination. Maybe it’s because Canadians doesn’t have that many BRK shareholders. So here’s how you save money:

1) Buy your cheaper ticket in Canada

2) Use your strong US dollar. At the moment one USD = ~1.25 CAD.

That’s like a form of double dipping. You save on the ticket plus you save on the exchange. On the downside, you have to leave the US to come back in the US. It’s weird how it works.

I don’t know if it will work all the time and if it will work from anywhere in Canada, but it worth’s to a ticket search.

 

 

One thought on “A Cheaper Plane Ticket to Omaha for the Berkshire Hathaway AGM

  1. […] got around the jacked up airfare by flying out from Montreal. I’ve written in detail about it in an earlier post about my discovery when shopping for airfares. The price of my plane ticket was reasonable because […]

Leave a Reply

