Having Coffee Breaking Bad Style

I like a good cup of coffee. Who doesn’t? Having traveled the world and seeing the many different ways coffee is made has turned me into a bit of coffee nerd. I have the traditional drip filter machine, a Breville expresso machine, a Vietnamese coffee maker, a French press, an Italian espresso maker, and now a syphon coffee maker. Now you might ask which one is the best? It’s really how you like your coffee and the type of beans you use. Use good high quality water and the best beans available. Most people underestimate the importance of these two key ingredients and blame the machine when a cup of coffee is not good.

Here is my latest experiment. If you watched Breaking Bad, you have certainly seen the hyper cool over the top coffee machine in the lab. I was able to import something 1/100th the size to replicate the feeling of knowing something about coffee making.
The machine: Hario TCA-3 Syphon / Siphon Vacuum Coffee Maker

The seller: Japanese Poppin Culture
At first, I was highly skeptical since he was a new seller on Amazon and his price for the machine was $20 dollar lower then everybody else for the same machine (I got it for $70, others: $90+). The store also only charge $5-6 for shipping from Japan which gave me the feeling “too good to be true”. So I went against my gut feeling and bought the machine anyway. It turned out to be a great buy and I made my first brew. I must say that the experience was awesome and the coffee was excellent.

Here are some pictures:
coffee

photo

photo_1

photo_3

photo_5

photo_7

4 thoughts on “Having Coffee Breaking Bad Style

  1. Hi, I recently bought a TCA-3. I’m just wondering how much coffee do you use when filling to the 3 Cup level? One level Hario scoop or do you weigh out your grind?
    Cheers,
    Greg

    1. Hi Greg,
      Thanks for commenting and sorry for the delay.
      I usually use 1.5 Hario scoop. Usually an espresso is 15 grams of coffee and a Hario scoop is 10 grams. But again it depends on how strong you want your coffee.

      Cheers,

      Brian

Leave a Reply

